Founded by Patterson executives Pete Frechette and Ron Ezerski in 2004, the Patterson Foundation was established to give back to the employees, industries and communities that make Patterson Companies successful. To fulfill this purpose, the Foundation endeavors to make a meaningful difference in society through our scholarship and grants programs.

Summit Assistance Dogs Check presentation Golf tournament

The evolution of the Patterson Foundation

We expanded our giving to support our animal and veterinary business unit with donations for nonprofits providing service animals to veterans, first responders and individuals with disabilities.
We expanded further by creating the Dollars for Doers program, a volunteer donation incentive to encourage Patterson employees to donate their time and efforts to their community. Employees receive a $100 donation whenever two or more teammates volunteer at the same nonprofit in any industry.
We expanded again to support our Animal Health business unit to support agricultural youth leadership programs, widely recognized as FFA.

Our values

We seek collaboration and involvement in our work from our employees and partners.
We value honesty and integrity in our relationships.
We are driven to make a positive difference in society.
We evaluate our success based on how many lives we are able to touch.
We strive for continuous improvement in all that we do.
We believe we are indebted to the people and communities that make Patterson Companies successful.
We are passionate about giving back to those in need in our communities.

Our donors

We appreciate all of our donors whose support enables the Patterson Foundation to live out its mission. Patterson Foundation donors include current and former Patterson Companies employees and other individuals and businesses. Individual donor categories are based on lifetime contributions and are updated yearly in conjunction with our annual report.

Founders ($5,000,000 and above)

  • Ronald Ezerski
  • Peter Frechette

Benefactors ($50,000 and above)

  • R. Stephen Armstrong
  • Robert Clifford
  • Robert Erickson
  • Harold Hunsaker
  • Gary Johnson
  • Andre Lacy
  • Burt Swanson
  • Jim Wiltz

Corporate Partners

  • Patterson Companies
  • A-dec
  • ACTEON North America
  • Air Techniques
  • Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica
  • Briggs & Morgan
  • C.H. Robinson
  • Clipper Distributing Company
  • Crosstex
  • DENTSPLY International Inc.
  • DJO Global
  • Hu-Friedy
  • Ivoclar Vivadent
  • KaVo Dental Technologies
  • Kerr Corporation
  • Metrex
  • Midmark Corporation
  • Pelton & Crane
  • Professional Sales Associates
  • SciCan
  • Sempermed USA
  • Septodont
  • Sirona Dental Systems
  • Sit Investment Associates
  • 3M ESPE Dental Products
  • Vedco Inc.
  • VOCO America
  • Wells Fargo Bank
  • Young Innovations
  • Zoetis

Major Donor ($5,000 and above)

  • John Adent
  • Scott Anderson
  • Kelly Baker
  • Steven Cunningham
  • Louis Anthony Fruehauf
  • David Ferguson
  • Josh Goldschmeding
  • Susan Grelling
  • Paul Guggenheim
  • Tom & Pam Hemmen
  • George Henriques
  • Alan Johnson
  • Josh Killian
  • Polly Koch
  • Richard & Robin Kochmann
  • Dave Lardy
  • Matthew Levitt
  • Neal & Isabel McFadden
  • Thomas McGuire
  • Dave Misiak
  • Todd & Michele Mueller
  • Kevin Pohlman
  • George Romero
  • James Ryan
  • Cecile Schauer
  • John Soderberg
  • Dale Spann
  • Dave Sproat
  • Nancy Strand
  • Jerry Thygesen
  • Tim Wagstaff
  • Mark Walchirk

Donor ($0-$4,999)

  • Click here to view Patterson Foundation’s donors.

Board of directors

The Patterson Foundation is guided by current and former Patterson Companies employees. As volunteer directors, each director contributes their time and energy to shepherd the mission of the Foundation and draw more employees to be a part of the legacy.

Committee members and Patterson Foundation ambassadors

Committee members and Patterson Foundation ambassadors

The Patterson Foundation has five active committees to carry out its mission:

Grants Committee

This committee is responsible for upholding and refining the grantmaking guidelines as well as reviewing the quarterly grant requests and determining which projects meet the mission of the Foundation.

Finance Committee

The Finance Committee is responsible for overseeing the invested assets of the Foundation, reviewing the financial performance of the Foundation, and providing financial information to various constituents.

Fundraising Committee

This committee is responsible for strategizing and executing fundraising events and activities. Most importantly, this committee is responsible for encouraging Patterson employees to participate in the Foundation’s activities.

Nominating Committee

The Nominating Committee is responsible for board governance and succession planning.

Communications Committee

The Communications Committee is responsible for communicating the Patterson Foundation’s legacy, mission and activities with Patterson’s employees, customers and investors.

The Patterson Foundation is fortunate to have such passionate, engaged employees volunteer their time, influence and financial gifts on each committee. Learn more about joining a committee and giving back here.

Patterson Foundation staff and committee members

Lindsay Stewart
Senior Manager, Patterson Foundation
Connie Harder
Gifts Administration, Patterson Foundation
Allie Krug Smulka
Program Manager, Patterson Foundation
Tina Ellering
Controller, Patterson Foundation

Grants Committee

  • Dale Spann (Chairman)
  • Cara Cherry
  • Karen Scott
  • Chad Terrell
  • Frederick White
  • Jon Butz
  • James Gatewood

Finance Committee

  • Steve Armstrong (Chairman)
  • Drew Brodin
  • Les Korsh
  • Phil Ramsland
  • Heidi Shuraleff
  • Ernie Pasillas
  • Mike Roddy

Fundraising Committee

  • Dale Spann (Chairman)
  • Amy Atkinson
  • Helen Cogan
  • Elizabeth Dygert
  • Rukmini (Minnie) Manrique
  • Steve Olsson
  • Marcy Plitzkow
  • Kevin Pohlman
  • Mike Roddy
  • James Ryan
  • Paul Schutz
  • Zach Babbitt

Nominating Committee

  • George Henriques (Chairman)
  • Dale Spann
  • Alisa Edwards
  • Jennifer Westendorf